Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to create .tgz file without creating .tar file? Post 302719357 by Pawan Kumar on Monday 22nd of October 2012 11:49:53 AM
Old 10-22-2012
tar -pczf MyBackup.tar.gz <file which needs to be inside>

will above command standard?

I have only concern is that wthether the above command generates tar file temporarily then delete afterwards? or it not at all generates tar file?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

script to create tar file

hello, im a newbie in unix scripting. can someone pls send me a sample script that will tar files in the folders of a specific directory, but will exclude specific files, and afterwards, will ftp the tar into another server. for example: in this directory, pshrprod:/opt/psoft/weblogic/818sp9_80... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajrandrup
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Error while creating .tar file using script

Hi, I am getting following error while running script: tar: can't change directories to /home/xyz/script: No such file or directory tar: compress: No such file or directory tar: getts.tar same as archive file Following is my script: #!/bin/bash echo "You want:" echo "1. zip... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Rakesh Bhat
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

file.tgz.1of2 & file.tgz.2of2

Hi all, Need help. Anybody seen this kind of file before? file.tgz.1of2 file.tgz.2of2 how to extract this tgz file? Any help? Tq (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: zeedwolf
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Creating a Tar file while files are spooling

Hi I have done a search for this but couldn't find much on it. I am creating a tar file with the command below tar cvf /export/home/user/backup/*Will this is being created I have a job spooling to 5 texts files in the following directory /export/home/user/backup/STATS/ The tar files... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sgarvan