Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Remove text from String
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Remove text from String Post 302558636 by Coolman24 on Saturday 24th of September 2011 03:44:11 PM
Old 09-24-2011
Remove text from String

Hello All,

I am new to Bash Programming, I just started a few days ago. OK now to my Question. I want to remove a text from a string. Example:

Code:
var="Hello Bad World!"
echo $var
Output: Hello Bad World!

But i want:
Hello World!

How can i remove the word "Bad" ? I heard about sed but how does it work with words?

Thanks!

Last edited by Coolman24; 09-24-2011 at 05:21 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

appending string to text file based on search string

Hi, I need to append string "Hi" to the beginning of the lines containing some specific string. How can I achieve that? Please help. Malay (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: malaymaru
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

remove text from string

I use the following command to know the create table structure. mysqldump myDBName myTBName -d --compact And I get the following output... CREATE TABLE `tblThreads` ( `threadID` smallint(4) unsigned zerofill NOT NULL auto_increment, `threadTitle` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: shantanuo
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Remove duplicate files based on text string?

Hi I have been struggling with a script for removing duplicate messages from a shared mailbox. I would like to search for duplicate messages based on the “Message-ID” string within the messages files. I have managed to find the duplicate “Message-ID” strings and (if I would like) delete... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: spangberg
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

remove characters from string based on occurrence of a string