Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting [Solved] Sed/awk print between patterns the first occurrence Post 302555689 by birei on Thursday 15th of September 2011 10:10:54 AM
Old 09-15-2011
Hi,

Using 'sed':
Code:
$ cat infile
2011-08-14 21:10:04,535 blablabla ERROR Exception1 blablabla
bla
bla
bla
bla
2011-08-14 21:10:04,535 blablabla ERROR Exteption2 blablabla
bla
bla
bla
bla
bla
bla
bla
bla
2011-08-14 21:10:04,535 blablabla ERROR Exception3 blablabla
bla
bla
bla
$ sed -ne '/ERROR/I,/ERROR/I { H; b }; x; s/^\n//; s/\(.*\)\n.*/\1/; p; q' infile
bla
bla
bla
bla

Regards,
Birei

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed to print a string until the second occurrence of a character

Hi, I am totally new to shell scripting. I have a String "c:\working\html\index.txt.12-12-2009.bkp" I want to check if the string has more than one "." character. If it does I would like to retrieve only "c:\working\html\index.txt" i.e, discard the second occurrence of "." and the rest of the... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: imr
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed/awk print between different patterns the first occurrence

Thanks for the help yesterday. I have a little modification today, I am trying the following: i have a log file of a webbap which logs in the following pattern: 2011-08-14 21:10:04,535 blablabla ERROR Exception1 blablabla bla bla bla bla 2011-08-14... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ppolianidis
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed print from last occurrence match until the end of file

Hi, i have file f1.txt with data like: CHECK a b CHECK c d CHECK e f JOB_START .... I want to match the last occurrence of 'CHECK' until the end of the file. I can use awk: awk '/^CHECK/ { buf = "" } { buf = buf "\n" $0 } END { print buf }' f1.txt | tail +2Is there a cleaner way of... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ysrini
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers