Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting [Solved] Sed/awk print between patterns the first occurrence Post 302554846 by ppolianidis on Tuesday 13th of September 2011 07:24:36 AM
Old 09-13-2011
[Solved] Sed/awk print between patterns the first occurrence

Guys,

I am trying the following:

i have a log file of a webbap which logs in the following pattern:

Code:
2011-08-14 21:10:04,535 blablabla ERROR blablabla
       bla
       bla
      bla
      bla
       bla
       bla
      bla
      bla
       bla
       bla
      bla
      bla

what i need is to print everything between the ERROR pattern but only the first occurrence :

Code:
       bla
       bla
      bla
      bla

Please help!

Last edited by pludi; 09-13-2011 at 08:42 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed to print a string until the second occurrence of a character

Hi, I am totally new to shell scripting. I have a String "c:\working\html\index.txt.12-12-2009.bkp" I want to check if the string has more than one "." character. If it does I would like to retrieve only "c:\working\html\index.txt" i.e, discard the second occurrence of "." and the rest of the... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: imr
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed/awk print between different patterns the first occurrence

Thanks for the help yesterday. I have a little modification today, I am trying the following: i have a log file of a webbap which logs in the following pattern: 2011-08-14 21:10:04,535 blablabla ERROR Exception1 blablabla bla bla bla bla 2011-08-14... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ppolianidis
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed print from last occurrence match until the end of file