Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Log archive script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Log archive script Post 302551778 by Shell_Life on Wednesday 31st of August 2011 02:39:34 PM
Old 08-31-2011
Here is one way of doing it:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/ksh
for mFName in $(ls -1 server.log* | sort | sed '1,4d'); do
  echo "Now deleting <${mFName}>"
  rm -f ${mFName}
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to archive all the log files

is there a way to write a script and run with a cron job which archives all the *.log files into .tar.gz. :eek: (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: tintedwindow
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to archive log files:Urgent Help required

I have no prior knowledge of Unix shell scripting,but my requriment demands to wrie a script that do fallowing things. 1.Delete older than one year log files 2.Moves files in to the directories as YYYYMM wise. 3.If files in $LOGDIR older than n=2 months tar and move them to $ARCHIVEDIR... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: vamsx
5 Replies

3. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

Aggregate title to an archive.log

Hello how are you, i have a question i have a file ale.log and i want to agregate a title and later a space when the text is over and put another title (when the text is over) how can i do this? thank you Example Last ------>(Title) i want to agregate pupu pupu pupu pupu... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: enkei17
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script for primary and standby DB archive log check

Hi All, OS:AIX 5.3 64 bits I would like the below script to send alert mail with the message - "Standby logs falling behind Primary" to xyz@yahoo.com Script ===== #!/usr/bin/ksh #----------------------------------------------------------------------------- # Use SQL*Plus to query... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: a1_win
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting