Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to programmatically generate makefile variable Post 302536013 by benkial on Monday 4th of July 2011 12:43:57 AM
Old 07-04-2011
Corona688, thanks for you reply. I'm kind of new to the makefile business...

You are right, if I use "echo $VERSION" under any of the rules, the "`" expression will be evaluated, and the correct version string will be printed. So, is this the correct way people do to get some contents into the makefile?

This seems kind of odd to me, because each occurrence of $VERSION will cause an evaluation of the "`" expression. This is not what I would expect the behavior for the "variable" be. Or is there a better way to do this in make?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

how to find usb ports programmatically

I need to find out where a usb flash memory drive is mounted. I have used prtconf and iostat to find the information and then used popen to parse the information to find what i need. I am wondering if there are some generic functions such as ddi_ or usb_ that i can use to find such info. I would... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jtcoelho
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Is there any way to set env variable in top level Makefile and unset when done

Hello I have compilation directory structure the top level Makefile is the one that contains all the sub directories I want to set in this Makefile env variable say : setenv OPTIMIZATION_LEVEL "1" and when all the sub directories done compiling it will set this variable to different lavel... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: umen
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

alternative for recursive variable in Makefile?