Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers what's the difference between signal and semaphore? Post 302524097 by stackpop on Saturday 21st of May 2011 12:06:58 PM
Old 05-21-2011
thank you~
I find some answers that the Signal is a technical which is equal to soft interruption.
And a signal can only tell a process what happened,but it can't send data buffers to other process.

Are all these understanding right?

But I just see the signal used to tell the process itself what happened not another process.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

semaphore

hi, is there any command where we can monitor semaphores? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: yls177
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Semaphore

Hi, I'm new to UNIX. I need to know what's a semaphore Do reply. Thanks VJ (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vjsony
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

making use of a Semaphore

can any one tell me how to run a semaphore. i understand roughly how they work code wise, but i'm not sure how to make use of them. i have two client programs in csh that perform tasks on a server file (flat file) how the i get the semaphore to lock the file when one has accessed it and how to use... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: FDavid
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Semaphore

Hi, I am looking to use a semaphore for the first time in one of my scripts. I am just wondering if there are any simple examples or tutorials around? I am a beginner so the simpler the better :) Thanks -Jaken (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jaken
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

semaphore

what is semaphore? can any body explain it in a more simple way than the manual ?? replies appreciated Regards raguram R (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: raguramtgr
7 Replies

6. Programming

Semaphore