Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Factorial of any number using functions Post 302512346 by alister on Saturday 9th of April 2011 03:25:06 PM
Old 04-09-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by itkamaraj
Alister,

Can you please explain your code.
Hello, itkamaraj:

I can try. Allow me to apologize ahead of time for my feeble WYSIWYG web editor skills. I have very little experience with them. Here goes...

While some dc commands are uppercase letters, it turns out that I only used lowercase commands. To make it easier to read, I chose only uppercase for register names.

A = accumulator: this register stores the value after each multiplication
B = register with macro to break out of the computation
F = register with the factorial macro

THE BIG PICTURE

Initialize the accumulator to 1. Check the value on the stack, n. Is n 0 or 1? If so, we're done. Copy the accumulator's 1 to the stack and print it. If the value on the stack, n, is greater than 1, then we need to start computing the factorial. Multiply n, by what's in the accumulator, store the result back into the accumulator, decrement n and repeat (except for initializing the accumulator).

THE DETAILS

Let's assume that the function was called thusly, "factorial 5". Initially, dc's stack is empty.

##############################################################

Code:
5 1sA [q]sB [d1!<BdlA*sA1-lFx]sF lFx lAp

Push onto the stack the starting point for the calculation.

Code:

Push a 1 onto the stack and then store it (s) in register A. This initializes the accumulator.

Code:
5  1sA [q]sB [d1!<BdlA*sA1-lFx]sF lFx lAp

define a macro that does nothing but quit itself and its caller. Brackets are used in dc to delimit a string. s is a store command. B is the name of the register.

Code:

Same as the previous step with B, but stores the factorial macro in register F. I'll break this macro down in a moment.

Code: