Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Test - too many arguments
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Test - too many arguments Post 302508419 by locoroco on Monday 28th of March 2011 05:15:03 AM
Old 03-28-2011
WOW, nice!

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can not test many arguments

I'm writing a shell script with bash ver 2.05b in linux. My script has a test with 5 arguments like this: until do .....(some codes) done but it raise an error: [: too many arguments I tried some ways but not ok. Could you give a way to work around this. Thanks... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: baton
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

can't TEST multiple arguments for a file

Hi, I'm new to scripting and teaching myself how to code. Using Korn, I coded this one return "True" if a file is executable and it's not empty. However, each time I pass a file that is 777 which contains data, the script returns "false". if then echo "true" else echo... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cruiser
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Test on string containing spacewhile test 1 -eq 1 do read a $a if test $a = quitC then break fi d

This is the code: while test 1 -eq 1 do read a $a if test $a = stop then break fi done I read a command on every loop an execute it. I check if the string equals the word stop to end the loop,but it say that I gave too many arguments to test. For example echo hello. Now the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Max89
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check weather a string is like test* or test* ot *test* in if condition

How to check weather a string is like test* or test* ot *test* in if condition (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: johnjerome
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep with two arguments to arguments to surch for

Hello, is it possible to give grep two documents to surche for? like grep "test" /home/one.txt AND /home/two.txt ? thanks (1 Reply)