Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting insert predefine text in front and on a loop Post 302496121 by masayangbata on Saturday 12th of February 2011 10:30:10 AM
Old 02-12-2011
Hi scottn,

It worked! Thank you very much.

What I meant earlier is that the input data is always expanding.

Have a nice day!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to insert some constant text at beginig of each line within a text file.

Dear Folks :), I am new to UNIX scripting and I do not know how can I insert some text in the first column of a UNIX text file at command promtp. I can do this in vi editor by using this command :g/^/s//BBB_ e,g I have a file named as Test.dat and it containins below text: michal... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Muhammad Afzal
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need to insert new text and change existing text in a file using SED

Hi all, I need to insert new text and change existing text in a file. For that I used the below line in the command line and got the expected output. sed '$a\ hi... ' shell > shell1 But I face problem when using the same in script. It is throwing the error as, sed: command garbled:... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: iamgeethuj
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

SED: Extracting text between first occurance of foo in front of bar

Suppose I have a text file that contains the tags <foo> and <bar>. The text file can have unlimted occurances of <foo> and <bar> and looks somthing like this: <foo> Some Text <foo> Some Text <bar> Some Text <foo> Some (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ArterialTool
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to insert text after a block of text?