Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Unable to ping Solaris VM from Xp host Post 302490393 by saurabh84g on Monday 24th of January 2011 05:28:41 PM
Old 01-24-2011
Data Unable to ping Solaris VM from Xp host

Hi All,

I am using Vmware Workstation 6.0.3 build-80004.

Guest OS: Solaris 10
Host OS : Win XP

I am getting request time out when i am trying to ping from XP ( cmd line) to Solaris VM

- I have assigned IP 192.168.50.5 in Solaris VM ( Hostname: Tower1) and it is in UP status.

VM>Settings > Showing Ethernet as Bridged .

/etc/defaultrouter
192.168.50.5 Tower1
/etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost loghost Tower1
192.168.50.5 Tower1
/etc/netmasks
192.168.50.0 255.255.255.0

Please help me to get this resolve.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unable to ping host

Hi, dear all, I am rather new to Unix and have this problem where I cant seem to ping from 1 host to another. The scenerio is as follows: - 1 QNX host->Eth->1 SCO host the SCO host is configured with it's IP the QNX host is configured with another IP both in the same domain, ie, 172.20.3.XX... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gavon
3 Replies

2. IP Networking

QNX host cannot ping SCO host, vice versa

The problem I am facing now is that the QNX host could not ping the SCO host and vice versa. They are in the same domain, ie, 172.20.3.xx. As I am very new to Unix, I guess I must have missed out some important steps. Pls help... Thanx alot (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gavon
2 Replies

3. Solaris

PING - Unknown host 127.0.0.1, Unknown host localhost - Solaris 10

Hello, I have a problem - I created a chrooted jail for one user. When I'm logged in as root, everything work fine, but when I'm logged in as a chrooted user - I have many problems: 1. When I execute the command ping, I get weird results: bash-3.00$ usr/sbin/ping localhost ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Przemek
4 Replies

4. Solaris

unable to ping a host in another domain