Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: range patterns in awk
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting range patterns in awk Post 302481916 by ghoda2_10 on Monday 20th of December 2010 07:25:34 AM
Old 12-20-2010
range patterns in awk

Hi All,

I am new to awk command and I had a question in using it.

I want to filter a code file and print specific functions (that contain menu word in the function name).

for example, if the file has:

Code:
function menu1()
{
}

function f2()
{
}

function menu3()
{
}

so I want the command to print the first and third functions only.
I wrote the below command using range patterns:

Code:
awk '
/.*function.*menu\(\)/,/^ *\} *$/
'

but there is a problem, the above one prints the function until the first "}" even if it is not the ending of the function , is there a way to fix this??

Last edited by radoulov; 12-20-2010 at 08:31 AM.. Reason: Code tags, please!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

AWK: Multiple patterns per line

Hi there, We have been given a bit of coursework using awk on html pages. Without giving too much away and risking the wrath of the plagerism checks, I can say we need to deal with certain html elements. There may be several of these elements on one line. My question is, if there are more... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Plavixo
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

print range between two patterns if it contains a pattern within the range

I want to print between the range two patterns if a particular pattern is present in between the two patterns. I am new to Unix. Any help would be greatly appreciated. e.g. Pattern1 Bombay Calcutta Delhi Pattern2 Pattern1 Patna Madras Gwalior Delhi Pattern2 Pattern1... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: joyan321
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

range in if using awk