Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Portable Applications
Operating Systems Linux Portable Applications Post 302472190 by Franklin52 on Tuesday 16th of November 2010 01:02:53 PM
Old 11-16-2010

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

Apache Portable Runtime

Hi I am starting a project in which I want to use APR for portability. I download APR version 1.2.2 from "http://apr.apache.org/download.cgi#apr1" and I am using Redhat/Linux 9. As I am a newbie to APR and I have no prior experience of using APR, so I started learning it from:... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumsin
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Portable scripting

For historical, simple, practical and portable reasons my scripts start normally with "#!/bin/sh", hence I restrict myself to those features available in the Bourne Shell. The few cases where I would use ksh or bash is if I know this script is targetted at some subset of platforms where that is... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: porter
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Query regarding portable script

Dear Experts, I want to write a script which has to work on Solaris & Linux sytems. The problem which i am facing is, there are commands whose options are different on both OS's. For example ping. On Solaris i have to write: ping $host 1 to check if the host is alive On Linux i... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: dhiraj4mann
4 Replies

4. UNIX and Linux Applications

ClamAV/other AV. Possible to make portable?

Hey guys/gals, I work with a large amount of servers, and was just curious if it is possible to make a linux AV app, portable. What i mean is, I go to a user's home directory and do something like ./clamavscan (I suppose an alias for clamscan..), and it scans the user's home directory for... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rhije
2 Replies

5. Linux

A portable bootable version?