Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: rsync a single file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting rsync a single file Post 302464134 by timgolding on Tuesday 19th of October 2010 11:03:17 AM
Old 10-19-2010
Hi thanks,

Been playing around trial and error style and tried some things.

I tried:
Code:
rsync -avz host:/path/to/file/file.csv /path/to/file/file.csv

That seemed to only do the one file and the file looks like it updated. Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Rsync file list

Hello, I'm trying to utilize rsync to backup 7 gigs of approximately 10,000 files, from what I've read this should be no sweat. However subsequent syncs seem to build an entirely new file list and the process takes a great deal of time. Reading the man page I'm not sure if I need to specify a file... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: hexaplus
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

single quote problem with rsync

Hi everybody, I'm a newbie and hope that someone help me in this problem. I have a filename in LINUX with single quote like this: abs@hosttest:~/ABS/BETY/cygdrive/C/DECLARANOT 1.1.4/02 - ROCK/052 - GUNSROSES> dir You* -rw-r--r-- 1 abs users 2365881 2008-08-25 09:16 You're Crazy.mp3 ... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: mr_boysito
9 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

rsync with particular file pattern

I'd like to rsync any files that end with 'rpt' under source dir called 'opt', and here is the command i tried: rsync -avz --include='*.rpt' --exclude='*' /opt /tmp -n but the list returned is a complete listing under opt. can anyone help out please? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jw_712
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

rsync - update file on backup when file renamed on source