Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Question/review my script: removing bad chars from filenames Post 302459137 by agama on Sunday 3rd of October 2010 10:13:16 PM
Old 10-03-2010
This sed works for me to remove all of the 'special' characters including both open/close square braces and the single quote, all in a single sed substitute statement:

Code:
sed 's/[]['\''"!@#$%^&*()`~[:cntrl:][:space:]\t]//g'

By placing the close square bracket immediately following the open character class, it is not interpreted as the end of the character class.

Using the '\'' construct you can "insert" a single quote into the class.

I don't know if I picked up all of the specials that you wish to remove, but you should be able to add what ever I missed.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

removing the extension from all filenames in a folder

Hi there, I'm pretty new to UNIX and have tried trawling through this forum to find an answer to what I want to try to do, which I'm sure is very simple but I don't know how to do it. What I have a a folder that contains multiple files that I have copied from Windows and I want to remove the... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: johnmcclintock
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

removing non-printable chars from multiple files

How do I remove non-printable characters from all txt files and output the results to one file? I've tried the following: tr -cd '\n' < *.txt > out.txt and it gives ambiguous redirect error. How can I get it to operate on all txt files in the current directory and append the output to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: revax
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

SED: Removing Filenames From Paths