Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl script to compare two files Post 302452858 by durden_tyler on Monday 13th of September 2010 08:49:10 AM
Old 09-13-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinesh.4126
... instead of prinintg I want to store the diff. in a outputfile ...
The code snippet in your post about the meaning of "unless" had the print command to print to an output file. Have a look at that.
Also check the Perl documentation for the "print" function.

tyler_durden

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

compare 2 coloum of 2 diff files using perl script

Hi, i am new to perl scripting.. i am still learing it.. i am asked to write a perl script which should compare 2 coloums of 2 different files. if those 2 coloumn are same the script should store the both the lines in 2 diff files. these are files, file 1: 21767016 226112 char 19136520... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vasuki
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Compare 2 csv files in perl

need to compare 2 csv files and report should containg number of matching lines,different lines ,missing lines in one file using perl. I dont want to use read line by line and scan thru the second file for matching line ,as this logic was so time consuming .Any ideas.i need the soultion badly .... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kittu1979
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to compare csv files using perl

I need to compare 2 csv files and report should containg number of matching lines,different lines ,missing lines in one file using perl. I dont want to use read line by line and scan thru the second file for matching line ,as this logic was so time consuming .Can other ideas .please respond asap... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kittu1979
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Use Perl In Bash Script To Compare Floationg Points