Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting grep the process id and kill all the filtered process Post 302422984 by matrixmadhan on Thursday 20th of May 2010 12:49:55 AM
Old 05-20-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegeek
i hope pkill can also help you out: 4 Ways to Kill a Process - kill, killall, pkill, xkill (link removed)

The requirement here is different, not multiple instances with same process name. Its different process with different process name. So, explicit pkill should be used with each and every process

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to kill a process and get process id

I'm just new to this unix world I need to kill a process I started using telnet, I tought that the process will be immediately terminated when I closed the telnet window but it didnt. I opened a new telnet window and the jobs where still there!, how can I kill them, and If I need a job id or... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jmdiaz
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

When kill doesnt work, how to kill a process ?

Hi All, I am unable to kill a process using kill command. I am using HP-UX system. I have tried with kill -9 and i have root privilages. How can i terminate this daemon ? ? ? Regards, Vijay Hegde (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: VijayHegde
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to start a process and make it sleep for 5 mins and then kill that process

how to start a process and make it sleep for 5 mins and then kill that process (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: shrao
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Kill a process without using kill command

Sorry, posted the question in other forum. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sudhamacs
0 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Kill a process from a grep