Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting grep the process id and kill all the filtered process Post 302422746 by pseudocoder on Wednesday 19th of May 2010 09:50:56 AM
Old 05-19-2010
Try this:
Code:
kill $(ps ax | grep rv_ | awk '{print $1}')

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to kill a process and get process id

I'm just new to this unix world I need to kill a process I started using telnet, I tought that the process will be immediately terminated when I closed the telnet window but it didnt. I opened a new telnet window and the jobs where still there!, how can I kill them, and If I need a job id or... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jmdiaz
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

When kill doesnt work, how to kill a process ?

Hi All, I am unable to kill a process using kill command. I am using HP-UX system. I have tried with kill -9 and i have root privilages. How can i terminate this daemon ? ? ? Regards, Vijay Hegde (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: VijayHegde
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to start a process and make it sleep for 5 mins and then kill that process

how to start a process and make it sleep for 5 mins and then kill that process (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: shrao
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Kill a process without using kill command

Sorry, posted the question in other forum. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sudhamacs
0 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Kill a process from a grep

Soz im a bit newbie... I want to do: ps -A | grep firefox | kill $1 it should kill the pid associated, but it doesnt work. $1 is the pid (if i do a awk {'print $1'} i get it ) , but kill doesnt take it as such... How can i do it? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ierpe
3 Replies

6. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script to Kill Process(number of process) Unix/Solaris