Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Shell script using Diff
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell script using Diff Post 302418122 by DallasT on Monday 3rd of May 2010 06:28:06 AM
Old 05-03-2010
Yes! you are right.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

shell scripting my own diff command

Hi I would like to run the diff command and recieve a little different output. I am on a linux machine. I am pretty new to shell scripting. So far my idea has shaped up to this, unworking, script. I would like file1: and file2: instead of the usual > or < output you recieve, diff | sed -e ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: axcxe
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Is there a diff way to exec this shell prg??

Hi, I want to know whether it is possible to to execute the below script like ksh ds.ksh <input file> > <output file> or any other simple way other then ./ The way i'm executing it right now is nawk -f ds.ksh <input file> > <output file>. I need the first format as my ETL tools is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: kumarsaravana_s
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to manipulate a message count for the same IP @ diff session

I have a file as like below, 10:20:30.45 START 10.20.30.40 10:20:31.46 HELLO 10.20.30.40 10:20:32.46 START 10.20.30.41 10:20:33.44 END 10.20.30.40 10:20:35.44 HELLO 10.20.30.41 10:20:36.56 HELLO 10.20.30.41 10:20:37.78 HELLO 10.20.30.41 10:20:38.99 START 10.20.30.40... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: gobinath
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Process diff command output in a shell script

diff -yta file1 file2 #!/usr/abc/b/bin/perl5.6 | #!/usr/abc/b/bin/perl5.8 Notable thing about above line is "|" appears at 62nd position. When the same line is assigned in a variable in a ksh script, using ss=$(diff -yta file1 file2) it appears as ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bhaliyajalpesh
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting