Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with writing simple bash script Post 302397258 by jgt on Sunday 21st of February 2010 04:24:55 PM
Old 02-21-2010
To send an email, with a unique string (provided not more than one email per second is generated.)

Code:
#set UNIQUE to Process ID + current date and time
UNIQUE=$$`date +"%Y%m%d%H%M%S`
echo $UNIQUE  >>output.log
mail -s "Test Response Time" someone@gmail.com <<EOF
Remarks:$UNIQUE
Sent at `date`
EOF

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need help writing simple script

I'm trying to write a simple unix script that will delete files after 30 days of being created. I've never done this before but conceptually it sounds easy. Here is what I'm trying to do: Get System Date Get File Date If (sysdate-filedate>30days) rm file All of these files are contained... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tamdoankc
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problems writing bash script to unzip files

I'm getting the following errors when I try to write a script to unzip some zip files. When I use the free trial copy of the commerical winzip program, however, they work fine. When I use -l or -t on unzip it indicates no errors. When I use the -o switch interactively from the bash command line it... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: siegfried
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Writing Bash script

Could anyone help me to Write a script in BASH Shell to determine the percentage of system disk space you are using. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: boris
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

HELP! writing simple shell script

how would i write a shell script to show the number of lines in which int variable appears in a c++ program. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: deadleg
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

problem writing a simple c shell script