Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with writing simple bash script Post 302397039 by sallyanne on Saturday 20th of February 2010 01:33:23 PM
Old 02-20-2010
Error Help with writing simple bash script

I want to write a bash script to:

1. Send an email from localhost to an external gmail account. (gmail then automatically forwards the message back to a pop account on the same server.

2. Script waits 3 minutes then checks to see if the email arrived, and if not, it sends an email to administrator.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? My knowledge of writing scripts is limited and I'm hoping someone can help.

Thanks so much,

Sallyanne

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need help writing simple script

I'm trying to write a simple unix script that will delete files after 30 days of being created. I've never done this before but conceptually it sounds easy. Here is what I'm trying to do: Get System Date Get File Date If (sysdate-filedate>30days) rm file All of these files are contained... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tamdoankc
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problems writing bash script to unzip files

I'm getting the following errors when I try to write a script to unzip some zip files. When I use the free trial copy of the commerical winzip program, however, they work fine. When I use -l or -t on unzip it indicates no errors. When I use the -o switch interactively from the bash command line it... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: siegfried
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Writing Bash script

Could anyone help me to Write a script in BASH Shell to determine the percentage of system disk space you are using. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: boris
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

HELP! writing simple shell script