Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Advanced error handling in shell scripts Post 302363695 by script_man on Wednesday 21st of October 2009 05:10:53 AM
Old 10-21-2009
Advanced error handling in shell scripts

Hi all

I've got a question regarding error handling in shell scripts. My background is mainly object oriented programming languages, but for a year or so I've been doing more and more (bash) shell scripting (which I quite enjoy by the way).

To handle errors in my scripts I often find myself doing something like:

Code:
<execute some command>
  if [ $? -ne 0 ] ;then
    <handle error>
  fi

In many cases the <handle error> is the same for the commands executed, so you end up duplicating code. Thus I think it would be better to encapsulate this code in a function, e.g.

Code:
exec_cmd()
  {
    $1 # the command to be executed is passed in as an argument
    if [ $? -ne 0 ] ; then
      <handle error>
    fi
  }

And execute commands by calling this function:
Code:
exec_cmd "<some command>"

Furthermore, the function can easily be enhanced to write the command as well as the command output and return code to a log file:
Code:
exec_cmd()
{
  echo ""   >> $log_file
  echo "---------------------------------------------------------" >> $log_file
  echo "$1" >> $log_file
  $1        >> $log_file 2>&1
  return_code=$?
  if [ $return_code -ne 0 ] ; then
    echo "ERROR - $1 failed with $return_code"
    exit 1
  fi
}

exec_cmd "<cmd1>"
exec_cmd "<cmd2>"
exec_cmd "<cmd2>"

I found this quite handy to handle errors in my scripts. If you write command, output and return code to a log file, it also makes it quite easy to investigate problems with scripts that run in the background.

Now my question is: