Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Log file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Log file Post 302343845 by jim mcnamara on Thursday 13th of August 2009 08:17:33 PM
Old 08-13-2009
No. Windows is windows. Are you running cygwin? Is that why you are looking at files thru Windows?

Cygwin has a windows-like screen you can use - it is called xwindows, on linux it could be called gnome, for example.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

alert_oss.log oracle log file in hp-unix

Hi I have go this alert_oss.log that is basically capturing all the oracle errorlogs.Now the problem is that it is one huge file and to see log of some particular date i tried cat alert_oss.log | grep 'Mar 25 10:44:45 2007' > alert_25.txt is not giving me the required output. pls suggest ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Assassin
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Rename log file according to log file age

Hi Experts, i am new in shell programming. i am having some problem of checking the log file age and rename it. for example: when i run the shell script, the script will check how old is the log file, if the log is already 10 days old(variable). then the log file will rename. hope to... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ewawong
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Rename a log file to old, then create a new log file.

Hi all, I have about 15 directories all with exactly the same structure. I have a file in each of them called log.txt. This file sits in /home/ftp/*usernamehere*/ftptransfer/log/ Username here is the only change in each of the 15 directories. I want to create a SIMPLE shell script that... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: mokachoka
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete log file entries based on the Date/Timestamp within log file