Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Tcl switch statement
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Tcl switch statement Post 302316598 by SFNYC on Friday 15th of May 2009 01:15:53 PM
Old 05-15-2009
Tcl switch statement

I am just learning Tcl and there are few things about it that is perplexing me. I have a question about the switch statement.

Why are these two switch statements giving me different results?

Code:
$ cat test_switch.tcl
#!/usr/bin/tcl
set foo "abc"

switch abc a - b {puts "No. 1"} $foo {puts "No.2"} default {puts "Default"}

switch abc  {
     a - b    {puts "No.1"}
     $foo     {puts "No.2"}
   default    {puts "Default"}
}

exit 0

$ ./test_switch.tcl
No.2

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

using getopt with a switch statement

hi all, i have been trying to get a script working that can take in more than one option using getopt. But for some reason, even when i type in a covered option, it skips directly to my error message of "no match." Any ideas of what might be wrong? set - 'getopt frd*: $*' for i in $* do... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: gammarays
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

If statement - How to write a null statement

In my ksh script, if the conditions of a if statement are true, then do nothing; otherwise, execute some commands. How do I write the "do nothing" statement in the following example? Example: if (( "$x"="1" && "$y"="a" && "$z"="happy" )) then do nothing else command command fi... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: april
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How is use sselect statement o/p in insert statement.

Hi All, I am using Unix ksh script. I need to insert values to a table using the o/p from a slelect statement. Can anybody Help! My script looks like tihs. ---`sqlplus -s username/password@SID << EOF set heading off set feedback off set pages 0 insert into ${TB_NAME}_D... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nkosaraju
2 Replies