Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Output of ps + awk in a variable to get PID Post 302296107 by amio on Tuesday 10th of March 2009 11:21:06 AM
Old 03-10-2009
Output of ps + awk in a variable to get PID

Hi All,

I am getting the PID of a process using its name using the following command
in a script

Code:
mypid=`ps aux | awk '/test5/ && !/awk/ { print $2 }'`
echo PID is $mypid

The problem is the PID is not getting printed. But when i run the command directly in shell, the PID got printed.

May i know where am going wrong in the script code?

Thanks in advance.
Amio

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to output awk to a variable

Hi folks, I am wondering how to output awk back to a variable. I am new to Unix/Linux. I am trying to get rid of a decimal number and put the output back in a variable for further use in the script. here is how I used awk: var=$1 echo $var |awk '{print $1 *100}' | $var echo $var this... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bashirpopal
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Set a variable from awk output

I have a file which I am processing using awk to spit out the following: export CLIENT=1 ; export USER=1 ; export METABASE=1 ; export TASK=1 ; export TOTAL=3 What i want to do now is execute that within the script so those variables are available to other commands. I've tried piping the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Cranie
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need to get pid of a process and have to store the pid in a variable

Hi, I need to get the pid of a process and have to store the pid in a variable and i want to use this value(pid) of the variable for some process. Please can anyone tell me how to get the pid of a process and store it in a variable. please help me on this. Thanks in advance, Amudha (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: samudha
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK Output into a variable