Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting comment out a cron job as part of a script Post 302294236 by rikxik on Wednesday 4th of March 2009 10:11:32 PM
Old 03-04-2009
You can copy off the crontab, grep for the job name, if found, put a hash at the beginning of the line (you can use sed) and write it back.

Show us the code you have tried so far.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Cron job for Perl script

Although there are many threads on this forum regarding cron, none have specifically answered my question. So hopefully someone can shed some light on what I'm doing wrong.. I have a perl script that I want to run in a cron job. Since I've read that cron doesn't have any environments set, I... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: man
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

a cron job needs a perl script to execute

Hello evreyone, this is my first post, and to say i'm new to this is an understatement. I know very little about perl scripts and hope some one can help me. i'm looking to get a script that a cron job can execute. what the script needs to to is 1) connect to a mysql database 2) go to a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Exader
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Need help with a script run by a cron job.

Hi, new to this forum and not sure if this is the right place to post. I'm new to cron jobs and scripts, and I need some help with a script to be used with a cron job. I already have a bot set up at a certain website address and need a script that the cron job will load every day that tells it to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: klawless
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Cron job shell script..