Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: mod on %RANDOM
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting mod on %RANDOM Post 302271837 by er_zeeshan05 on Sunday 28th of December 2008 03:22:44 PM
Old 12-28-2008
Hammer & Screwdriver mod on %RANDOM

I use %random to generate random number but i want to mod it so i get random number below 50 only in ksh script
how can i do it
x=random % 50
doesn't work

help is appreciated.

Is there any other way i get generate random number below 50 in ksh.any other function.
Plz provide an example

i am fairly new to unix
thanks

3 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Mod

I try to use mod(a,b) in a program but i cant Please help me (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: iwbasts
2 Replies

2. Ubuntu

expect script for random password and random commands

Hi I am new to expect. Please if any one can help on my issue its really appreciable. here is my issue: I want expect script for random passwords and random commands generation. please can anyone help me? Many Thanks in advance (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: vanid
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need to generate a file with random data. /dev/[u]random doesn't exist.

Need to use dd to generate a large file from a sample file of random data. This is because I don't have /dev/urandom. I create a named pipe then: dd if=mynamed.fifo do=myfile.fifo bs=1024 count=1024 but when I cat a file to the fifo that's 1024 random bytes: cat randomfile.txt >... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Devyn
7 Replies
Tspi_TPM_GetRandom(3)					     Library Functions Manual					     Tspi_TPM_GetRandom(3)

TCG Software Stack Developer's Reference

NAME
Tspi_TPM_GetRandom - generate a random number on the TPM SYNOPSIS