Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: substitute \n by space
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting substitute \n by space Post 302266477 by GDVS on Wednesday 10th of December 2008 09:45:18 AM
Old 12-10-2008
substitute \n by space

I'm writing a bash script that is supposed to turn a particular xml into xhtml. I'm using pipelines in between regular expressions (sed).

The only thing I'm having problems with is defining a newline in sed.

So getting everything on 1 line would help;
an expression for \n to be able to rearrange field / \(...\) \(...\)/ \2 \1/ would be ideal.

I'm only a beginner & I couldn't find a solution searching the forum.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Substitute in vi

I know in vi you can do :%s/replaceme/withthis/ but if i want to find all lines say without a # at the begining and I want to put it in how would that command be formatted? I can't figure it out for the life of me. #comment blah1 hey1 grrr1 #comment #blah1 #hey1 #grrr1 (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: kingdbag
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to substitute?

Hi, I have query terms like this: a) apple bannana b) apple bannana AND chickko c) "milk shake" OR Graphes orange whereever there is space substitue with AND operator. I tried like this: (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vanitham
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

wake up user space thread from kernel space ISR

Hello, I'm searching for a proper way to let the kernel space ISR(implemented in a kernel module) wake up a user space thread on a hardware interrupt. Except for sending a real-time signal, is it possible to use a semaphore? I've searched it on google, but it seems impossible to share a... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: aaronwong
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Calculate total space, total used space and total free space in filesystem names matching keyword