Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Ping by hostname
Operating Systems AIX Ping by hostname Post 302260374 by lo-lp-kl on Thursday 20th of November 2008 10:28:24 AM
Old 11-20-2008
Ping by hostname

Thanks for your comments funksen and bakunin

I have one question which files I need to check por to see "If the system is configured to try using a nameserver"

I add the line hosts=local4 in the /etc/hosts.

And I dont use ldap or nis name resolution but in my file /etc/netsvc.conf I have this hosts=bind4,local

I have to put the dns on the /etc/resolv.conf because If I dont do this, when I try to login takes some time (like a minute) to let me in the server. but this dns not are own

Thanks for your tips again

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Solaris - unknown hostname - how can I change hostname?

Hello, I am new to Solaris. I am using stand alone Solaris 10.0 for test/study purpose and connecting to internet via an ADSL modem which has DHCP server. My Solaris is working on VMWare within winXP. My WinXP and Solaris connects to internet by the same ADSL modem via its DHCP at the same... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: XNOR
1 Replies

2. HP-UX

UX 11iV2 - No ping by hostname

Hi. I just installed the HP-UX 11i V2. I have problems with CDE - it is inoperative (after logon there is a message box: messaging system failure - or something like that, it asks to check /etc/hosts and network settings). nslookup works by hostname and IP, hostname shown the correct... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: netwalker
7 Replies

3. Solaris

cannot ping by hostname

Hi All, My current setup is: 1x Windows Server (Windows 2000 server) 1x Unix Server 2x Windows machine 3x Unix Terminals (Hostnames = A, B and C) Problem The problem iam having is Unix terminal C cannot be ping across by Unix terminal A or B or Unix server by using the hostname. Unix... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tlee
1 Replies

4. Solaris