Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: VNC copy paste problem
Special Forums Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions VNC copy paste problem Post 302257653 by herbhopkins on Wednesday 12th of November 2008 07:29:41 PM
Old 11-12-2008
Copy and Paste from Unix to Windows

Hi,

I am not very experienced with Unix, but have been successful in copying and pasting from Unix to Windows from a VNC session:

1) Highlight the text you want to copy by holding down the left mouse button and dragging, just like in Windows. This copies it to the Windows clipboard.

2) Go to your Windows window and paste it from the clipboard as usual.

By the way, to paste it into the Unix window, put your cursor where you want it to go, then click the middle mouse button.

Magic!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

Cut, Copy and Paste with X

One of the things that I have learned to take for granted in the Win32 world is the cut, copy and paste hotkeys of ^X, ^C and ^V. I use these keys all the time under Win32 to copy and paste information from one GUI into another GUI. My question is, does X have a similiar standard? ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: auswipe
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cut, copy + paste

Hi all! How do I cut, copy and paste under unix??? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: aitor314
2 Replies

3. Linux

Copy Paste in VNC Viewer

hi, I am running a VNCserver on my Fedora VMWare virtual machine. I make a VNCViewer connection to that from my Windows XP box. Can I have copy, paste functionality from Fedora to Windows (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rakeshgupta
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search, copy and paste

Can i search in a file for more than one string at a time? And copy the next string after that and paste it in column style? Is it possible? Thanks! (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: kingpeejay
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

copy/paste with awk