Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk or sed for finding closest pattern to a line number Post 302245814 by Franklin52 on Saturday 11th of October 2008 06:08:34 AM
Old 10-11-2008
Should be something like:

Code:
awk '
/---/{c=0}
{a[++c]=$0}
/qqq/{for(i=1;i<=c;i++){print a[i]}exit}
' file

Regards

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Using awk to get a line number to delete, piping through sed

Alright, I'm sure there's a more efficient way to do this... I'm not an expert by any means. What I'm trying to do is search a file for lines that match the two input words (first name, last name) in order to remove that line. The removal part is what I'm struggling with. Here is my code: echo... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: lazypeterson
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Include Line Before Pattern Using Sed / Awk

Hi, I have a sql file that runs something like this vi Test.sql REVOKE EXECUTE ON DEMO_USER.SQC_SAMP FROM PUBLIC; REVOKE EXECUTE ON DEMO_USER.SQC_SAMP FROM DEMO_READ; REVOKE SELECT ON DEMO_USER.DEMO_NOMINEE_TEST FROM DEMO_READ; REVOKE EXECUTE ON DEMO_USER.SQC_SAMP FROM... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajan_san
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

sed match closest/nearest pattern

All i am struggling to raplace some text in a line between two (closest) patterns , line="/home/usr/bin/:/home/usr/devuser,n1.9/bin:/home/usr/root/bin" i want to replace "devuser,n1.9" with "NEWVAL", basically all teh text from "devuser" until nearest '/' with some new text. i tried teh... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sudheer1984
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help on Sed/awk/getting line number from file