Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Server Setup
Operating Systems Linux Gentoo Server Setup Post 302232760 by uunniixx on Friday 5th of September 2008 06:22:00 AM
Old 09-05-2008
Server Setup

We have C++ server (web applications) and Java Servers. I am not a Java developer but Java people say that Java Servers requires tomcat as it renders web pages. The Java server updates DB that C++ servers inquires upon and makes processing accordingly.

This setup is ok for a user as the user needs to have a copy of every sever for himself. Now we are in requirement for all users in our company - around 3000 people for individual development purpose. So we would need to have 3000 C++ servers for each as they will modify code for their feature work, however not all (around 20) will be for Java servers.

The issue we would then need to install 3000 Java servers (tomcat). So that each individual developer has his / her own work area and one modification will not hamper others.

Is there a way that I can reduce this setup - Number of Java app though making user independent.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to setup an FTP server?

i want setup an ftp server on my homelab now i downloaded resource management book from sun there it shows you how to make the entry in the inet.d.conf file also how to control ftp access but how do u actually set it up? say like i want certain file to be obtain through ftp how do i do that? oh... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rmuhammad
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

setup a DNS server for my redhat server

Using Redhat Linux Enterprise AS 4 can someone teach me how to setup a dns server for my webserver? i've registered a domainname at mydomain.com but when i type in the domain i register i cannot enter to my webserver. someone told me that it is related with the DNS setting on my server. i've... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kaixiang88
2 Replies

3. HP-UX