Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: script for creating aix user
Operating Systems AIX script for creating aix user Post 302184028 by prichard on Thursday 10th of April 2008 10:29:40 AM
Old 04-10-2008
I did not say it would be simple. Smilie I just said that one can make the smit.script work for their needs. It is a starting point for automation. Until one understands what to check for one should stay with "smitty user" since it checks all that stuff for you. Very powerful.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

creating user accounts in AIX

Hello all: I am new to UNIX and I am given the responsibility of administering a UNIX machine recently. The system is a IBM AIX 3.1. As a part of my duties I recently created some user accounts using "smit". It looked as if everything went well. But, after creating the account, I logged into... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: pdepa
3 Replies

2. AIX

Limiting length of user in while creating user

Hi all, I am a newbe to aix 5.2. I want to specify the characters used by users while creating user in aix like specifying the length of the password should i use some sript for that if it is then please let me know how to do this if yes give me the link for the scripts. Thanks in advance ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Satya Mishra
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

AIX:creating user with username more than 8 chars

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: anuafs84
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Creating and Executing a script of aliases in AIX

hi, I am trying to create a script in AIX (5.3 I think), then run it. here's what I have: /home/me $ vi first.aliases ... alias cdblah='cd /blah' alias cdho='cd /ho' alias ssr='sudo su - random' ~ ...end of first.aliases /home/me $ ./first.aliases /home/me $ ssr ksh: ssr: not found.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: heetertc
2 Replies