Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: AIX hangs on boot
Operating Systems AIX AIX hangs on boot Post 302156999 by gus2000 on Wednesday 9th of January 2008 05:51:36 PM
Old 01-09-2008
If you have a serial console, then there will be standby menus that are accessable by hitting the spacebar (while the system is plugged-in, but off). From there, you can go to the Boot Menu and specify "Boot to SMS". That setting is good for one IPL only, but it saves you from having to hit just the right key at just the right moment.

It was always a joy trying to get SMS out of an S70. It takes 20 minutes to boot, but there's a 5-second window for me to hit "5". I missed it 90% of the time! The Boot Menu is a welcome relief.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

AIX Hangs

Hai I am new to AIX, currently in our shop we use AIX 4.3.3 , where we have hosted the websphere 3.5 applicaiton on it. The AIX server is getting hanged very frequently, when analyse we found the swap memory is increasing once it reaches the memory 100 the system is totaly in hung state, so... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: vipin77
5 Replies

2. AIX

RS6K B50 Hangs at E140 on Boot

I've got an RS6K B50, and i've installed AIX 5.3, TL5. It installs fine, the only customisations i make to the BOS are to change the locale / keyboard layout to UK, and to choose not to install graphical software. I have no video card in this box, and i connect via a serial console (null modem... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: craigp84
4 Replies

3. Solaris

Boot hangs up on solaris

Hi all, I have a SUN server Sun-Fire-V890 running solaris 9, with a remote system console . Both the IP adresses of the server and the console are in a private network (address 10.67.xxx). For some reasons I need to give the access to the server from outside address 194.xxx, but I prefer that... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: aribault
2 Replies

4. AIX

AIX hangs through the boot process