Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: AIX hangs on boot
Operating Systems AIX AIX hangs on boot Post 302156909 by gus2000 on Wednesday 9th of January 2008 01:08:50 PM
Old 01-09-2008
If there's no LCD error code, then the system didn't get very far. You'll need to boot from external media.

IBM - Booting in Service Mode

It's possible that the system is downlevel on firmware, and is not compatible with that AIX release/level. You may need to update the FW to proceed (although that usually involves having a bootable disk: catch-22!)

The message "AIX is starting" is issued if a hd5 with a AIX boot image is found on the bootable media. This message should get replaced with "Starting Kernel" once the kernel code has been read into memory. Sometimes this can be corrected with:

# bosboot -ad /dev/hdiskx

once the system is booted from external media and the rootvg imported and mounted.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

AIX Hangs

Hai I am new to AIX, currently in our shop we use AIX 4.3.3 , where we have hosted the websphere 3.5 applicaiton on it. The AIX server is getting hanged very frequently, when analyse we found the swap memory is increasing once it reaches the memory 100 the system is totaly in hung state, so... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: vipin77
5 Replies

2. AIX

RS6K B50 Hangs at E140 on Boot

I've got an RS6K B50, and i've installed AIX 5.3, TL5. It installs fine, the only customisations i make to the BOS are to change the locale / keyboard layout to UK, and to choose not to install graphical software. I have no video card in this box, and i connect via a serial console (null modem... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: craigp84
4 Replies

3. Solaris

Boot hangs up on solaris