Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: How to edit cron jobs
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to edit cron jobs Post 302147691 by lowbyte on Wednesday 28th of November 2007 04:13:50 AM
Old 11-28-2007
Hi,

export your favorite editor, ex. EDITOR=vi; export EDITOR
then edit crontab with crontab -e

CU
lowbyte

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

CRON Jobs

Hi, I am a total newbie to all things Unix. I've worked out I need to set up something that will allow me to automatically backup a DB for me, the DB is for a foum system I run. Now, I've only found out I need to use telnet for this, and worked out hwo to log into telnet today. From here... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: eludlow
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

cron jobs

hi folks, I need an explanation on cron jobs with an example (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: vijaysabari
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Cron Jobs

Where can someone find info on Cron Jobs? Very new to UNIX and the PC I inherited looks to have several of them. Looks like they are some kind of background program that runs automatically at specified times. Would like to delete some of them and know more about them. (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: dereckbc
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

cron jobs

I need to monitor my cron jobs with another unix machine since occasionally the cron will go down on the main server but there are no errors. Can anyone help with a script to write to use the cron on the back up machine to monitor the main server? I am using SCO and the cron jobs have been... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rmarral
3 Replies

5. HP-UX

Cron jobs