Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: sar logs in /var/adm/sa
Operating Systems Solaris sar logs in /var/adm/sa Post 302138684 by suntac on Wednesday 3rd of October 2007 03:58:29 AM
Old 10-03-2007
Rob,
I have no experience with SAR however have you thought about writing a simple script that will do this for you... You could write a script that rotates your logs.... you can also take a look at Freeware for Solaris for the log-rotate utility.

Regards,
Johan Louwers.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

/var/adm/messages- Help

Solaris 8/ sun 420R Checked /var/adm/messages file and got the following message: Dec 4 16:40:05 serverXYZ ConfigProvider: get_pkg_instdate: getdate failed for the standard C locale (7) Does anyone know what this means? Looked up getdate but do not understand.... Thanks. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: finster
1 Replies

2. Solaris

/var/adm/loginlog

As root I have created the loginlog file in /var/adm with permissions (r and w) for root:root only. Failed attempts(> 5) to log in as root do not get logged in the file. What am I missing?? I am on a Solaris 8 Box. :confused: :confused: :confused: (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: encrypted
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

var/adm/cron

Hi, Here im using WinSCP and looking into the remote dir var/adm/cron and I get the following error.Is this bcoz i dont have admin privileges: Cannot get real path for '/var/adm/cron'. Unexpected OK response. Error code: 0 Error message from server: Success Request code: 16 BTW im... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: thumsup9
1 Replies

4. AIX

AIX and cron logs filtering ?: /etc/cronlog.conf, /var/adm/cron/log

Hi, I can use 'crontabs –e' and do all the scheduling I like. However I would like to auto send myself just the cronjobs logs that fail. That is to say the PIDs that fail and the related lines with those PID’s only. (Not the full set of logs) Has anyone done this work? Or does an AIX 5.3 tool... (0 Replies)