Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting suppress echo while reading input in expect Post 302128189 by earnstaf on Monday 23rd of July 2007 09:54:02 AM
Old 07-23-2007
It's the same in Expect.
Code:
send_user "What is your password "
stty -echo
expect_user -re "(.*)\n" {set PASS $expect_out(1,string)}
send_user "\n"
stty echo

I've just started learning Expect myself, but I have used that piece of code successfully.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to suppress input keying from displaying on terminal.

I'm a Unix newbie. In a shell-script, is there any way to accept keyboard input (via STDIN) without having it display on the screen? I know keying in a login password sort of does this by replacing what you key with astericks (*) but I believe that's a "C" routine. I'd like to be able to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: liteyear18
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading password and echo * character

Hi, First of all i am using solaris 10. I want to write a script that ask user to enter password and read the character input from keyboard. The ask to re-enter the password and then if they are match it will accept. But my problem is I want to echo a '*' character instead of the character I... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: alanpachuau
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

usage of echo with standard input

Hi, I am passing the file filename to a program and I have to use the "<" sign: program < filename Inside the program I would like to assign the string "filename" to a variable var. I can't do that with "var=$(echo $1)" because of the "<" sign. Removing the "<" sign would work for echo,... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: calandrea
13 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading specific contents from 1 input files and appending it to another input file