Sponsored Content
Special Forums UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers Difference grep, egrep and fgrep Post 302125624 by ravind27 on Friday 6th of July 2007 04:43:06 AM
Old 07-06-2007
Difference grep, egrep and fgrep

Hi All,

Can anyone please explain me the difference between grep, egrep and fgrep with examples.

I am new to unix environment.. Your help is highly appreciated.

Regards,
ravi

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I need help with fgrep or grep

How can I do an and condition with fgrep. I want to do: ps -ef | fgrep -f searchvalues > tempmail.file mailx -s "Email Subject" email@domain.com < tempmail.file The search values file contains: opt/bea.*java.*80 mysqld What I want is to find things that contain: mysqld OR... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmy
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

grep/awk/egrep?

Hi, The input file "notifications" contains the following string. FRTP has 149 missing batches I want to search for : FRTP has missing batches As the number 149 is not important and will change. The commands I have tried. grep "FRTP has.*missing batches" notifications.txt... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: whugo
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Difference between grep, egrep & grep -i

Hi All, Please i need to know the difference between grep, egrep & grep -i when used to serach through a file. My platform is SunOS 5.9 & i'm using the korn shell. Regards, - divroro12 - (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: divroro12
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Fgrep or grep or awk help - scanning for delimiters.

Hi, I'm struggling a little here, so I figured it's time to ask for help. I have a file with a list of several hundred IDs (the hit file- "hitfile.txt"), which is newline delimited, and a much bigger (~500Mb) text file, "FASTA.txt" with several thousand entries, delimited by ">". It's the... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Tbox
8 Replies