Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers IF THEN ELIF question in BOURNE SHELL Post 302115023 by reborg on Friday 20th of April 2007 07:11:26 AM
Old 04-20-2007
Don't forget to quote the variable with -z, otherwise an unset variable will break the script.

Code:
if [ -z "$1" ];

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

bourne shell timing question

In one of my scripts I do the following sort +0 x > y mv y x In my script x and y are fully qualified. This works 99% of the time. However once in a while the system comes back and says that is cannot access y in the mv command. I did some research and I suspect that if I insert a... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: gillbates
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Bourne-again shell

Hi guys !! well i'm still new in learning UNIX , and actually i'm still studying it by myself .. anyway, some people told me the Bourne-again shell is a good version of UNIX to work on , and i tried to download yesterday but i didn't know how to start it ...... the ReadMe file associated with... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mrsamer
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bourne Shell: if elsif question

Hi All, Must be something obvious I am missing, but the simple script below doesn't work. #!/bin/sh x=4 if then echo "x is $x" elsif then echo "x is greater than 4" else echo "x is less than 4" fi When I run this script, I get the error message: 7: Syntax error... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: leostar_10
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple shell script with elif and for nexxt

Hi! I have here a simple script to change the advskew on carp interfaces. The first is working, but the part for status, where a for is within a if/else delivers everyime only the action for the value "prod". Even when i use type test or dev. Where did i made the mistake? # $Log:... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: locutus01
2 Replies