Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: calculator program..
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting calculator program.. Post 302099883 by reborg on Thursday 14th of December 2006 12:22:52 PM
Old 12-14-2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Arndt
Sounds like homework.
I agree Glenn, and that is confirmed by the origin of the post. Closed.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Calculator

I am pretty new to the Unix word, and have created a working calculator script. I have one problem. It doesn't use any decimals, it rounds off to the nearest whole number. 1 #!/bin/ksh 2 while true; do 3 echo -n "Enter the first integer: "; read IN1 4 test... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ironhead3fan
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

calculator

hi, im new to the unix system and scripting and was wondering if anyone could help me with this problem iv been havin... i want the system to: 1. ask me for a number 2. ask me for a command to use on that number (* + - /) 3. ask me for another number 4. then ask me for another command, if the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jdougy
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash Calculator issue

Hello, I'm relatively new to using bc so I could use some help. In this script im working on I want to have the bc function to calculate float numbers for imagemagicks convert charcoal. Below is what I'm talking about. There are no syntax errors but when it outputs the users frames for example 0-10... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jsells20
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with calculator code

Hi Guys, I found this code in net.. it is working fine.. But can anybody explain me the sed statement used in the code.. echo "Enter the expression:\c" read express eval echo "$express"|sed 's/^/'$precision' \ /'|bc -l|\ sed -n '1,${ /syntax/!{ } ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mac4rfree
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting