Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: SSH Compress Commands
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers SSH Compress Commands Post 302084762 by kushti on Sunday 13th of August 2006 02:40:28 PM
Old 08-13-2006
SSH Compress Commands

I am brand new to unix and am hoping someone can start me in the right direction.

I hope I have the right forum but if not can a moderator move this thread to the right area.

I am moving servers and need to back up a folder and its sub folders into a .tar.gz file then want to upload that file to my new server and decompress it.

I have used SSH to depress my sql databases without a problem because I found the commands to do that but I am lost with with backing up and compressing a folder and sub folders to a .tar.gz - I am not even sure if this is possible?

Can any one help me on this?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. SCO

compress & cpio commands

Our End of Day backup routine uses following script. start End-of-day compress $BASE TO /home/compdir write /home/compdir to DATTAPE end where $BASE=/home2/Rev83 DATATAPE=/dev/rmt/ctape1 write=cpio (not sure about parameters) since I'm new to UNIX, i dont know how to restore data... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tayyabq8
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

ssh and commands

can someone point me to where it explains how to set the right commands wd ssh? cat something | while read h; do awk 'BEGIN {FS="\n"; RS=""; ORS="\n\n"} {if ($0~/'$h'/) print hdrvar,"\n",$0 }' /something/somedata ; done above works in when ssh'ing into linux machine invoke like this ssh... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: convenientstore
10 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

ssh and unix commands

hello, when using ssh, ssh user@<host> do_collect_info.sh I have this error: do_collect_info.sh: ifconfig: not found the error does not appear when I run the sh script locally (no ssh) on the host and with the same user. any idea why? thanks. (1 Reply)