Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Which Flavor to start with???? Post 28018 by mga on Wednesday 11th of September 2002 09:50:16 AM
Old 09-11-2002
thanx

cerberusofhate & Kelam_Magnus

thanx for the nice suggestions; i think i would start with FreeBsd. but actually i am not wondering for finding unix....my question is again the same as there must be one & only one flavor that is the heart of all other unix OS's ; that must be the one dominant over other flavors for its power & stability. one who masters it masters all other flavors!!! the quest still remains for the heart of Unix Kernals!! & I am sure one day I will find it.

Again thanx for your kind suggestions.Smilie

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need a flavor of Unix

Hello all! I'm the new guy in these parts. I'm a part time college student/part time Java Intern. I've seen that during my days at work having a basic knowledge and understanding for Unix is a great benefit for us developers. I've got a dual boot on my main workstation at home of Win2K Pro and... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: AMDPwred
3 Replies

2. Solaris

good OS flavor

which is more in high demand commercial solaris or BSD THANKS (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mxlst14
1 Replies

3. UNIX and Linux Applications

Linux flavor of tversity

I have been using UShare, but would like to get something that is more in line with tversity's functionality. Has anyone any suggestions? (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sport9155
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Start program in background (or start crontab ahead of time)

Hey! I'm working on a script that will add a user, create some configfiles, and add a crontab for the user. The crontab looks like the following: @reboot /home/user/program config.conf & I would like for this process to start at the end of my script under the corresponding username by... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: noratx