Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Server Error 500. Total Newbie. Ugh. Post 25863 by paqi the black on Tuesday 6th of August 2002 06:34:04 PM
Old 08-06-2002
Got the problem licked.

OK. This is embarassing. But for all you other newbies out there:

I uploaded everything in ASCII (text) format. Still got the errors.
I went through all combinatorial possibilities of chmod ### on the cgi.
Still Got the errors.

I made sure that the alias was correct. Still got the errors.

What caused the error ?

I know you're all dying to know Smilie...

The first line of the program was blank.

Duh.

The second line was my shebang #!usr/bin/perl (often #!usr/local/bin/perl).

So make sure you check that, when you're uploading a file that you've written in BBedit, notepad or just saving a file from vim, pico whatever--make sure the first line's not blank.

It will save you at least 31 hours. Of course, you'll learn a lot less if you do it right the first time.

sheepishly,

paqi

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

is this the UNIX operating system board? TOTAL NEWBIE

I'm trying to find information to help me switch to UNIX os from Windows98. Is this where I should be? If so, can someone get me started? I have a Compaq Presario 5030 with a USR 56k modem and other peripherials. Sound card is integrated onto the motherboard (I think). So, I need drivers, etc. Any... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: leohutt
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Total Newbie help getting sarted...

Basically i am not looking for you guys to write the script for me but help me understand how to write it and point me in the write direction. I can see what i want to do, just having trouble putting it into shell. I have a file Blah.txt with 400 DN's in it. I need to modify two attributes... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ph1ngering
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

total newbie