Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: UNIX for beginners
Special Forums UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers UNIX for beginners Post 25047 by Gardeducorps on Wednesday 24th of July 2002 12:45:20 AM
Old 07-24-2002
I am also new to Unix, but I have used and installed both SCO Unix and Sun Solaris. SCO Unix is probably more Intel friendly. The newest to make waves is Linux which is growing ever popular. However there are many free versions out there on the web including Sun Solaris that you can download for free. I know this probably does not help you but I hope it is a start for understanding the easy accesability of different Unix varieties.

If you have a chance goto www.techtv.com . They reviewed some Unix systems a while back.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

X-programming for beginners

Good morning. Thanks for the very valuable hard-to-find information I get from you guys. Can anybody give any suggested websites or references for anyone who wants to begin learning on programming applications in X? Thanks to anyone in advance... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jfsuminist
1 Replies

2. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

unix course for beginners

does anyone know of a course for unix beginners (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: moose
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Good unix "for lamers/beginners" book?

Im pretty new to unix, as you can probably tell. Anyway I want to get a book on unix and howto use it. I would like to get a book that goes from the very basics to the advanced things that unix can be used for, does anyone have any suggestions?? (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: MadProfessor
16 Replies

4. AIX

'Best' AIX book for beginners ?

Hi, I'm starting to learn AIX and looking for some books. I found lots of IBM redbooks, but which one is 'best' for beginners ? Could someone suggest one. thank you Vilius (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vilius
1 Replies

5. Programming

Beginners question about fork